For the second half of Garage Awesome’s coverage of the 5th and final round of the Time Attack series for 2010, we take a look at what was going on and who would claim victory in the various battles within the Club Challenge class.

The Club Challenge class is actually made up of 4 separate classes: 4 wheel drive, rear wheel drive, front wheel drive and a class for those cars without the luxury of a turbocharger or supercharger; the naturally aspirated up to a 3ltr engine class.

The action was split into 2 groups, as with 36 cars signed on to compete it would have been impossible for anyone to put in a quick lap time with so many cars on the circuit at once, so cars selected for group A would run first followed by group B, the times would then be put together giving you an overall Club Challenge class leader board.

Rob cowling wins rd5

After the warm up session, that leader board showed the Nissan Skyline of Walter Morris go quickest overall, Matt Webb’s Wankel powered RX7 was topping the RWD class whilst Romaine Levesque’s Honda CRX was out in front of the FWD runners. Another Honda, this time the Integra DC5 of Paul Hughes, lead the naturally aspirated class.

In the 4WD class, Morris continued to perform well, taking top spot in the practice session with the Subaru of round 4 winner Scott Robson hot on his heels! Warren Kelly’s Escort was running in third ahead of top female driver Fiona Kindness in her Skyline and the first time entrant Darren Robinson in the standard looking, but quick Porsche 996 Turbo.

As we get down to the nitty gritty of the round, qualification saw the immaculate Evo 7 of Rob Cowling claim the group A lead and another Evo, this time Simon Nutter, take the Group B qualification advantage. ahead of Nutter however you would find Kelly, Kindness and Robinson who all put in faster times from Group A than the Group B Winner.

ex BTCC Civic

As the final loomed, title challenger Scott Robson’s Engine had let go almost gifting his championship advantage to his rivals, and they made the most of it! It was again the storming Evo of Rob Cowling that took the round win, half a second ahead of Warren Kelly, a result that would see him overtake Robson in the overall standings. However, 3rd place was enough for the consistent Skyline of Fiona Kindness to take the overall championship win, with Robson’s engine failure demoting him to the 3rd step of the podium.

Phew, and that’s just the 4WD drive class! The rear wheel drive was a little more straight cut with the round win going to Matt Webb in the Mazda, Gordon Wright in the Skyline R33 found himself in the runner up spot, whilst Ford fans can celebrate after Ronnie Amis’s Sierra Cosworth claimed the 3rd podium place.

Overall, the 3 round podium takers also claimed the top 3 places overall, with Webb taking the title, Amis runner up and the bronze medal to Gordon Wright.

Championship winner!

The Front wheel drive class got exciting, with clear leader Bo Neilson’s championship looking safe, however a engine failure put that in major jeopardy, in fact Bo managed to borrow a friend’s Astra VXR with an almost standard engine and suspension to go and put in a time to claim those last vital championship points! But Bo need not have worried, his closest rival, the Mini of Dave Ward, could only manage second on the day and leaving him second overall, 3rd both on the day and overall was another Mini, this time that of Nigel Brown. Romaine Levesque’s CRX took the day’s top honours, certainly one to look out for next year!

Finally the N/A class, again it worked out nice and simply, similar to the rear wheel drive class with the 3 quickest drivers of the day, also taking the 3 championships places. Fastest at Snetterton was the Elise of Jeff Mileham followed by the rare, but very fast, Metro 6R4 of Mark Pollard and Daniel Gannon’s E36 M3 BMW, but with only 200ths of a second separating the 3 drivers, it really could have been anybody’s! Pollard was the man to take the championship, ahead of Gannon and Mileham respectively.

That concludes our coverage of the 2010 Time Attack series, it’s been fantastic and we endeavour to bring you coverage from all the rounds in 2011. A big thanks to all the drivers and the Modified Live team for putting on such a display and congratulations to all those who walked away with the silverware, but for many this isn’t the end… it’s the beginning of some interesting car builds and developments for the new season.

Pic Credits – Ollie Novell/Rich Cooper